Sign of the times…

Sign of the times…(this ties in with the HDR stuff)

Resort-1These photos were taken today at the site of the now long gone “Riverside Resort” along the Vedder River. This is all that remains of the once prosperous resort, restaurant and dance hall of a time lost forever. The resort opened in 1920 when this was the main through fair to Vancouver, long before the Trans-Canada highway was built. At that time the bridge you can see in one of the photos was built of wood. The only thing left at this site is the “sign” and a great fishing spot. Everything else is gone. I felt I should capture the sign before it’s gone as well.

Resort-2Resort-3Resort-11I’m always a little sad to see the older things we have in life disappear. (hope that’s not a sign I’m getting old) Oh well…

Okay, this little writeup in an extension of my last post on High Dynamic Range (HDR) imagery. I showed the subtle use of HDR photography in a useful way. I told you I would give you some examples. Well here you are, HDR at work again. I took these same photos last week and was not pleased at all. So today I went back and photographed these images with HDR in mind. I used the same technique as before. Three photos from a tripod, under exposed, over exposed, and the proper exposure according to the camera meter readings on manual setting. I then fused the three together using “Photomatix Pro” creating the HDR images you see above. Below I’ve put together the “off the shelf” photo along side the HDR image, and no…this is not BS, they are exposed under proper conditions on a very bright sun lit day.

Resort-5Resort-6Resort-7OK…these are not exciting photos, unless of course you know the resort. But I’m sure they show the brightness that has been brought forward in each of these. It’s much more than raising the contrast or increasing the brightness. Playing around with the hue and saturation in Photoshop can be a tedious and daunting task, not to mention disastrous if you’re unsure of what you want to achieve or if you’re not experienced with color control. Again I’m going to refer back to my last post…the last photo on the page was of a wooden bridge in a wooded area under bright sun light which cast dark shadows and washed out sun lit areas. I showed you the HDR version of that photo. This is the original photo #1. (proper exposure) and the HDR version.

Resort-8Resort-9Resort-10Sometimes it’s easier to see the difference if they’re side by side. Play around with the settings and go through the tutorials if you’re thinking about using an HDR program of any kind. If you like the “surreal” look that can be had with these programs, by all means use it to its fullest advantage. But if you come across a situation that requires a subtle touch, now you know it can be had with the same program that delivers an unearthly look that a painter would have difficulty with.

Topimage1-2

WaterWealth

Your time is valuable, but I'd still like to know what you think...

